The Tillermaster Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Electric Marine Discussions » All Aspects of Sailing » The Tillermaster « Previous Next »

David Sheriff
Board Administrator
Username: admin

Post Number: 346
Posted on Monday, September 12, 2011 - 11:30 am:   Edit Post Print Post

I have put up a fairly complete Tillermaster page on the website including schematics and a troubleshooting guide should anyone be still interested.

My own TM works well. I'd recommend finding one and putting it back in service. The TM has proven more reliable than several other autopilots I have experience with. Even better, you can fix it.

It can be adapted to boats that steer with a wheel. I have no experience with that, however.

The Trusty Tillermaster

David Sheriff
Board Administrator

Post Number: 321
Posted on Friday, February 20, 2009 - 08:12 am:   Edit Post Print Post

This is how my Tillermaster remote control switch is wired. The switch is a mom-off-mom toggle.

When used, it temporarily overrides the compass. You have to "pulse" it to keep the boat on a different course because the motor keeps running in one direction or the other. When you release the switch, the autopilot returns to the original course.

tillermaster remote

David Sheriff
Board Administrator

Post Number: 320
Posted on Friday, February 13, 2009 - 09:33 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

I have one of the remote switches on my boat. I can figure out the connections tomorrow when I'm down there and post them here. The switch is a mom-off-mom but I don't yet know the configuration.

Robert Ford
Username: bob

Post Number: 1
Posted on Friday, February 13, 2009 - 03:57 pm:   Edit Post Print Post